Clipboard Image Plugin

I often see a lot of requests for how to change the image filename of an image you have pasted straight into Writer, like a screenshot for example. Currently there is no way within Writer of changing this filename, so you will always end up with “image[x].png” in your blog posts.

Well, I have now made a plugin (that will sadly only work with the current beta version) that will allow you to insert the clipboard image (ie, your screenshot) and give it a meaningful name.

The picture on the left is the initial screenshot I took for the example. The picture on the left is a screenshot showing the filename. To do this, once you have taken your screenshot, just go into Writer and click on Insert Clipboard Image, you will then be prompted by the following screen:

Here you can choose what name you wish to give the file, and what format (the choices are jpg or png). You can also set what the default image format will be from the options:

I will be making the source code available at some point, but I’m feeling particularly lazy today, so that will have to wait. In the meantime, you can download the plugin from Windows Live Gallery.

SL

Whilst writing this, I was listening to TravisCloser

  1. #1 by Joe on October 7, 2008 - 11:09 pm

    You rock!!

  2. #2 by thatonedude on October 8, 2008 - 2:59 am

    Fantastic work, man! I appreciate your hard work on the plugin in addition to the follow-ups you and Joe made on the forum post I began at the beginning of the month!

  3. #3 by Tobbi on October 12, 2008 - 10:05 am

    Hi Scott,thx a lot for this great plugin. It would be great, if you could integrate a function to replace the ALT-Tag of an image, too. For instance: Filename  –> ALT-TagGreets Tobbi, live-writer.de

  4. #4 by Tobbi on October 12, 2008 - 10:08 am

    Forget my last sentence, it automatically replaces the ALT-Tag. I didn\’t see it. 

  5. #5 by Dave on October 27, 2008 - 9:57 pm

    Great plugin. Talk about a handy little tool — this is it!

  6. #6 by thatonedude on November 30, 2008 - 9:04 pm

    Just curious… is this plugin still working for anyone using the most up-to-date release (Version 2008 – Build 12.0.1366.1026) of Live Writer? I\’ve reformatted both my laptop and desktop within the last week and WLW isn\’t even recognizing the DLL as a plug-in on either machine. Anyway, it was great while it lasted! Definitely helped to keep my images organized: fansoftech.com/2008/10/11/organize-images-and-improve-seo-with-live-writer-plugin/

Leave a comment